Since we’ve started we’ve grown both our regular staff and contributors; sadly, today Mercedes and Thomas are out, with Mercedes getting ready for her wedding (Mazel Tov!) and Thomas probably on one of those ayahuasca retreats or some shit. He’s Canadian, who the hell knows what he’s doing? Oh, and David is still in Australia, where I assume by now some determined koala has made him their lifelong mate. But I’m here, Matt’s here, and lots of your favorite contributors are, too! So, please, ask us questions! Suggest things you’d like to see! Want more spammers on the site because you love both sexy pictures of willing ladies and making so much money at home? We’ll see what we can do! I can complain to you that I need to find more time to write things! You love hearing me complain, right? We have more videos coming, more stories, more everything, but what matters is you our Autopian community, so let’s talk, everyone. We’re just getting started. UPDATE: To address some things I’m seeing a lot, we’re working on images in comments, comment editing, and notification. Same goes for site loading speeds. We see it too, and we want it fixed as much as you do! I’ve already maxed out our servers at 128K of RAM but if it has to, I’m willing to move it to an Apple IIgs, which can have at least a meg of RAM. Also, 4,096 colors! And I want you to get paid, so open to ideas. I would say keep up with the all things with a motor idea. I like seeing planes and busses, not my cup of tea yet still and interesting read for someone who likes to know everything they can. No slide shows or blank space where an ad would be taking up half the screen in a bonus. The other change I like to see is a bit more policing of the comments. I am not talking rule with an iron fist holding a ban hammer, rather make sure people are respectful. You can disagree with the person and the hive mind, doesn’t mean you are wrong and you should not get slammed by the commenter. I have only seen this a few times and I would like to see it under control as that is why I stopped commenting on other site. I agree with a lot of the technical side of things — edit button, et al — but somehow the issues are becoming part of the charm for me. Kind of like owning an older car. I also love that some of you are active in the comments (I can appreciate that Torch, Beau and DT are a little busy running things/laughing each others automotive life choices). I am particularly enjoying Mr. Clarke’s contributions and willingness to discuss his work with us uninformed folks. I think the Autopian RV absolutely must be built. And lastly, I can live with ads if they keep this site alive. I could also live with some way to contribute money/parts/rust remover to keep The Autopian independent (save, of course, for the rich, creamy, farm-raised Optima electrons that power it).

  1. Wouldn’t mind an official masthead with blurbs about all you lovely people and your roles on the site. Being able to look at everyone’s bio helps, but having it in one place in the About Us would be mighty convenient. 2. This one is a little more of a reach, but The Autopian feels like a good place to have our pal Kristen Lee come over every so often for a guest feature as Fancy Kristen. I know she’s busy doing good stuff at The Drive; also, I don’t know if there would be any kind of issues with The Old Site regarding the use of her disgustingly rich alter-ego, but man, I used to laugh my ass off at those articles. Otherwise I love it here. Keep doing excellent work my dudes. But this: “sadly, today Mercedes and Thomas are out” Don’t scare me like that. I still have PTSD from everyone leaving the picnic site and I thought you meant they were out for good. O.O Question: I have a 15 hour roadtrip coming up. What are the 3 essential items I should have on my playlist or packing list? And more Jeep stuff! Site-wise, I think most of the others have covered what we need in the short term. Keep articles written by an actual staffer, not a name like “The Bishop” pumping out iffy articles like that whole photoshop job on the “Mustang II” Lastly: When this site was just taking off, I distinctly remember freaking out because you guys got Murilee Martin to write for you. I loved the “Junkyard Treasures” and the like he wrote for The Truth About Cars, and Jellopicknic. What happened with that? One and done thing? Maybe first timers would be turned off though. Upgrade the server to the Pentium III with Winchester 10MB disk that I’m sure is in Jason’s closet. Question of the day – I haven’t seen this yet… Why “The Autopian” instead of simply “Autopian”?
It s Been Six Months Of The Autopian  Let s Talk  - 52